In the USA marijuana laws differ from state to state. However there are also federal laws that can be applied across the country. The first such act which dealt with the power of the state in matters relating to seizure and punishment for violation was the Uniform State Narcotic Act (1925-32). In 1930 the Federal Bureau of Narcotics was set up. Stricter laws followed and in 1952 and 1956 the Boggs Act and the Narcotics Control Act were passed respectively which made the possession of marijuana a crime. In 1973 enforcement of US marijuana laws received a boost when a single federal department Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) was set up. However since the 1970′s there has been an increasing trend towards decriminalization of marijuana use especially in the the medical field.
In Alabama marijuana laws strictly mention that possession, cultivation and sale of marijuana is a punishable offense. If one possesses 2.2 lbs of marijuana or less it is considered to be misdemeanor and it may lead to a fine of $6000 and an imprisonment of 0-1 year. Possession of more than 2.2 lbs of marijuana is a felony. The defaulter can be fined up to $15000 and can be imprisoned for 1-10 years.
Alabama marijuana laws consider sale of marijuana a felony especially if it is sold to minors. It entails a prison term of 1-10 years. There are also laws regarding the location of such sale of drugs. If the drug is sold within a radius of 3 miles of a school or a public housing project it leads to a prison term of 1-10 years.
In case of cultivation of marijuana of 2.2 lbs or less then the minimum mandatory sentence (MMS) is for 3 years. For cultivation between 2.2lbs and100lbs the MMS is is 5 years .For 100 lbs to 500 lbs it is 15 years. For more than 1000lbs it is a life term
In case of trafficking of marijuana Alabama marijuana laws reward a fine of $50,000 to $1000000 and a prison term of 25 years up to a life term for the first offense. In case of a second offense it gives life imprisonment.
Like Alabama there are such laws in California as well. In fact California was the first criminalized marijuana use as early as 1913. On September 30, 2010 California Governor Arnold Schwazenegger signed the S.B 1449 into law. Now the possession of marijuana less than 1 ounce will not be considered an misdemeanor, only an infraction. In case of cultivation of any amount of marijuana California marijuana laws gives a jail term of 16-36 months. Sale of marijuana less than 28.5 g is considered a misdemeanor and it entails no punishment. For sale of any amount of the drug the highest prison term given is 2-4 years ,.For sale of marijuana to a minor above 14 years is considered a felony a prison term is for 3-5 years. And to a minor below 14 there will be jail term for 3-7 years.
In USA marijuana laws thus are not the same in all states. While in some states like Alabama the laws are quite strict as compared to states like California where law is relatively relaxed. So if you happen to be in Alabama, it is advised that you do not consume marijuana and try to give up the habit.